FireRescue GPO Advisory Council

NPPGov’s FireRescue GPO program is overseen by an Advisory Council.  The FireRescue GPO Advisory Council is managed by the Western Fire Chiefs Association and is made up of representatives from the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) and all US Divisions of the IAFC. The Council members provide guidance and input on the program. Through their combined experience in the fire service they provide current industry knowledge and expertise to provide support for the growth of the FireRescue GPO.

donaldbockDonald Bock:
Southwest Division Representative
Donald Bock is the Southwest Division representative for the Fire Rescue Group Purchasing Organization; Chief Bock has been a council member since 2001.

Donald began his fire service career in 1960 with the New Orleans Fire Department and retired from there as the Deputy Chief in 1988. Soon after that he was hired and appointed Superintendent of Fire at the Jefferson Parrish Fire Department until his retirement in 2004.

Chief Bock is an esteemed Board Member of many associations including: International Association of Fire Chiefs, Louisiana State Firemen’s Association, Louisiana Fire Chiefs Association, and is the Financial Secretary of the Jefferson Parish Firemen’s Association. Bock is also the current President of the New Orleans Firemen’s Federal Credit Union and a current Board Member of the Louisiana Corporate Credit Union


chrischristopoulousChris Christopoulous:
New England Division Representative
Chris Christopoulos, Jr, is currently the Fire Chief – Emergency Management Director for the City of Lebanon, New Hampshire. Chief Christopoulos began his fire service career in 1981 as volunteer firefighter in Wallingford, CT. Christopoulos has worked as a Lieutenant – Paramedic with the West Haven, CT Fire Department and as Director of Public Safety for the Town of Rindge, NH

Chief Christopoulos is a past president of the New Hampshire Association of Fire Chiefs and represents the NH Fire Chiefs on the Governors Advisory Council on Emergency Preparedness and Security and the current State VP representing New Hampshire for the New England Division of the IAFC. He is the current president of the Lebanon-Riverside Rotary.

Chief Christopoulos holds an AS in Fire Science, a BS in Fire and Emergency Services Management and is currently a student in the Nava Post Graduate School, Center for Homeland Defense and Security’s Masters Program.


heidichamesHeidi Arnold:
Western Fire Chiefs Association Staff
Heidi Arnold is the General Manager for the Western Fire Chiefs Association with primary responsibility to the FireRescue GPO program. She is responsible for coordinating and conducting Advisory Council meetings and is the conduit between the FireRescue GPO and the fire service nationwide. Heidi obtained a Bachelor’s of Science in Marketing and subsequent Juris Doctorate from the University of Oregon.


dougschrageDoug Schrage:
Western Division Representative
Doug Schrage is the Chief of the University of Alaska Fire Department in Fairbanks. Previously, he was the operations chief for the Anchorage Fire Department where he served for over 25 years, holding every rank through deputy chief.

Chief Schrage has a Master’s Degree in Fire and Emergency Management Administration from Oklahoma State University, a Baccalaureate degree in Fire Service Administration from Western Oregon University, and is a National Fire Academy Executive Fire Officer.

Schrage currently serves as the Western Fire Chiefs Association Alaska VP and is past president of the Alaska Fire Chiefs Association. He is active in the Alaska fire service and education communities and holds several professional memberships.

Chief Schrage and his wife Mary, of 20 years, have raised three sons. Calvin, Benjamin and Aaron who are attending or have plans to attend the University of Alaska.

Southeast Division Representative: Vacant


terrymonroeTerry Monroe:
IAFC Representative
Terry Monroe Joined the Fire Rescue GPO in 2009.

Terry is director of Membership and External Relations with the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC). Prior to joining the IAFC, Terry was the Director of Development and Membership with the Internet Society, an international and non-profit organization.

Mr. Monroe has a Master of Business Administration from the University of Maryland, Smith School of Business; Master of Public Administration from George Washington University; and a Bachelor of Arts with a minor in Economics from George Washington University.


jeffreyhowellJeffrey Howell:
Great Lakes Division Representative
Jeff Howell began his employment with the City of Lake Forest as a Firefighter/Paramedic in 1990 and moved through the ranks as a Lieutenant, Captain, Deputy Chief, and now Fire Chief.

He holds a Master’s degree in Fire and Emergency Management Administration, from Oklahoma State University, and a Bachelor’s degree in Fire Science Management, from Southern Illinois University. He also holds the Chief Fire Officer designation which he obtained through the Center for Public Safety Excellence.

He served on the Lake County Fire Chiefs Association, and is currently serving on the Lake & McHenry County Specialized Response Team Executive Board. He is an active member of industry organizations, and a part-time faculty member of Fire Science Technology at the College of Lake County, Illinois. Chief Howell and his wife Lynda of 25 years, have raised three children, Jacob, Bailey, and Addison.


terryjesterTerry Jester:
Eastern Division IAFC Representative
Terry Jester joined the Memorial Fire Company in 1972 as a junior member at the age of 14. He received their Fireman of the Year award in 1977, 1983 & 2012.  From 1978 to 1982 he held the position of Rescue Captain then Asst. Chief.  In 1982-1983 he held the position of Fire Chief then remained as the Asst. Chief from 1984-1985. In 1986 Terry and his family moved from Slaughter Beach to Milford and joined the Carlisle Fire Company. In 1987 he was elected Director and appointed Asst. Chief then served as Fire Chief from 1988-1992. In 1993 he and his family moved to the country and he re-joined the Memorial Fire Company.  Since that time he have served as Fire Chief from 1996-2001 and 2006-2012.

Over his fire service career, Terry has served on numerous committees for the County and State and was the first President of the Sussex County and the State of Delaware Ambulance Associations. He was also the President of the Sussex County Fire Chief’s Association and currently the Chairman of Delaware State Fire Chief’s Marine Task Force and the Delaware Director for the Eastern Division of the International Association of Fire Chief’s.


jacktaylorJack Taylor:
Missouri Valley Representative
Jack Taylor is a council member of Fire Rescue Group Purchasing Organization representing the Missouri Valley division; Jack began is role with the FireRescue GPO in 2005.

Chief Taylor has been in the fire services for 35 years, advancing through the ranks at Liberal, Kansas Fire Department before accepting the position of Fire Chief at Emporia Fire Department/Lyon County EMS – where he currently resides as Chief. His Career includes three years with the University of Kansas Fire and Rescue Training Institute as Program Manager for Industrial Training and Certification Programs.

Jack is also an active member of the Kansas State Association of Fire Chiefs, Kansas Professional Fire Chiefs and Kansas Emergency Medical Services Association. He is also a member of IAFC’s Hazardous Materials Committee and the Kansas Commission on Emergency Planning and Response.

Chief Taylor has participated in the Executive Officer Program and has achieved credentialing as Chief Fire Officer and Chief Medical Officer.